Ashburton Bowls On Line

BunCup2On Sunday 16th September, 2018 seven members of the Ashburton Bowls Club represented the Club at the Boroondara Cup. This was the eighth year of this most enjoyable but highly competitive annual competition.

The format is that each club plays every other club once in either triples or fours.

The host club was North Balwyn Bowls Club and they did a fantastic job with the planning, timings, lunch and overall organisation which made for a very successful day.

All seven bowls clubs in Boroondara entered the competition.  The format is four games before lunch and three afterwards, with the fours playing five ends each game and the triples six, so things really had to keep moving, and they did!

The day was great fun and a good opportunity to catch up with bowlers whom we do not necessarily meet at other times.

Although the temperature was cool, it was nothing like the freezing wind and rain of the day before ,

Members representing Ashburton were Annie Davis, Liz Kortum, David Mayson, Peter Salmon, Denise Taylor, Gordon Unwin and Carole Williams.

The Mayor Cr Jim Parke presented the trophy to the overall winners MCC.  Cotham Ward Cr Felicity Sinfield was also present.

At the end of the day, after a number of wins and some losses, seven tired but happy members tottered off home, already dreaming about next year.


Carole Williams


© Ashburton Bowls On Line 2023